Lynn Nottage

Her play Intimate Apparel (Roundabout Theatre Company, South Coast Rep, Center Stage and Mark Taper Forum) is the winner of the 2004 NY Drama Critics Circle Award, Outer Critics Circle Best Play and John Gassner Awards, American Theatre Critics/Steinberg 2004 New Play Award and 2004 Francesca Primus Award and AUDELCO for best playwright and production. Her critically acclaimed play Fabulation or, the Re-Education of Undine premiered at Playwrights Horizons to a sold out audience. Most recently her play, A Stone's Throw was part of the Antigone Project at the Women's Project. Her plays have been produced and developed at theatres throughout the country, including the Alliance Theatre, The Sundance Institute Theatre Lab, Second Stage, Freedom Theatre, Crossroads Theatre, Intiman, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Steppenwolf, Yale Rep., The Vineyard Theatre, among others. An anthology of her plays Crumbs from the Table of Joy and Other Plays was published by TCG, and includes Crumbs from the Table of Joy, Las Meninas, Mud, River, Stone, Por'knockers and Poof! She is the recipient of numerous awards including the prestigious 2004 PEN/Laura Pels Award for a mid-career playwright. She's received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, Manhattan Theatre Club, New Dramatists and the New York Foundation for the Arts. She is also the recipient of a NEA/TCG(99/00) grant for a year long theatre residency at Freedom Theatre in Philadelphia. Ms. Nottage is a resident member of New Dramatists, a graduate of Brown University and the Yale School of Drama, where she is currently a visiting lecturer.
Award Production Function
1 WON 2017 Lucille Lortel Award, Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee    
2 NOMINATED 2017 AUDELCO Award, Playwright Sweat Playwright
3 NOMINATED 2017 AUDELCO Award, Dramatic Production of the Year Sweat Playwright
4 WON 2017 AUDELCO Award, Outstanding Achievement Award    
5 WON 2017 Obie Award, Playwriting Sweat Playwright
6 NOMINATED 2012 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Play By the Way, Meet Vera Stark Playwright
7 NOMINATED 2011 AUDELCO Award, Playwright By the Way, Meet Vera Stark Playwright
8 WON 2010 Horton Foote Prize, Outstanding New American Play Ruined Playwright
9 WON 2009 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Play Ruined Playwright
10 WON 2009 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Play Ruined Playwright
11 NOMINATED 2009 Drama League Award, Outstanding Production of a Play Ruined Playwright
12 WON 2009 Dramatists Guild Hull-Warriner's Award    
13 WON 2009 Obie Award, Best New American Play Ruined Playwright
14 WON 2009 Outer Critics Circle Award, Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play Ruined Playwright
15 WON 2009 Pulitzer Prize, Drama Ruined Playwright
16 NOMINATED 2009 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize Ruined Playwright
17 NOMINATED 2005 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Play Intimate Apparel Playwright
18 WON 2004 AUDELCO Award, Playwright Intimate Apparel Playwright
19 WON 2004 Drama Critics' Circle Award, Best Play Intimate Apparel Playwright
20 WON 2004 Outer Critics Circle Award, John Gassner Award Intimate Apparel Playwright
2017 Lucille Lortel Awards
-Playwright's Sidewalk Inductee