Dessa Rose

Name: Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater
Address: 150 West 65th Street, New York, NY 10023
Production Details
First performance date: February 17, 2005
Opening date: March 21, 2005
Closing date: May 29, 2005
View Larger Size
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
Lincoln Center Theater Producer
Bernard Gersten Executive Producer
Andre Bishop Artistic Director
Ira Weitzman Associate Producer
Lynn Ahrens Lyricist
Stephen Flaherty Composer
Sherley Anne Williams Original Author
Graciela Daniele Director
David Holcenberg Musical Director
Graciela Daniele Choreographer
Loy Arcenas Set Designer
Toni-Leslie James Costume Designer
Peggy Eisenhauer Lighting Designer
Jules Fisher Lighting Designer
Scott Lehrer Sound Designer
Faye Armon Prop Design
Adam Siegel General Manager
Philip Rinaldi Press Representative
Arturo E. Porazzi Production Stage Manager
Patty Lyons Assistant Stage Manager
Jeff Hamlin Production Manager
Stephen Flaherty Vocal Arrangements
William David Brohn Orchestrations
Christopher Jahnke Orchestrations
Cindy Tolan Casting
Linda Mason Ross Marketing

Actor Role
Rebecca Eichenberger Ruth's mother/Mrs. Steele/Susannah
Tina Fabrique Rose/House Slave/Ada/Auntie Chole
Michael Hayden Adam Nehemiah
David Hess Sheriff Hughes/Trader Wilson/Bertie Sutton/Parishioner/Auctioneer
LaChanze Dessa Rose
Kecia Lewis Dorcas/Field Hand/Gemina/Janet
Norm Lewis Nathan
William Parry Robert Steele/Parishioner/Auctioneer/Mr. Oscar/Sheriff Pine
Soara-Joye Ross Field Hand/Parishioner/House Slave/Annabel
James Stovall Haker/Field Hand
Rachel York Ruth
Eric Jordan Young Kaine/Field Hand/Philip
Don Burroughs Adam Nehemiah/Oscar/Sheriff Pine/Bertie Sutton/Wilson UNDERSTUDY
Joan Hess Ruth/Ruth's Mother/Susannah UNDERSTUDY
Kenita R. Miller Dessa Rose/Annabel UNDERSTUDY
Paul Oakley Stovall Nathan/Harker/Kaine/Philip UNDERSTUDY
NaTasha Yvette Williams Dorcas/Janet/Rose/Ada/Chole UNDERSTUDY

We are changing the structure of our database to allow award information to be searchable. While we make this change, some awards may not appear here. We apologize for these temporary omissions.

Award Person / Company Function
1 NOMINATED 2005 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Lighting Design Peggy Eisenhauer Lighting Designer
2 NOMINATED 2005 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Lighting Design Jules Fisher Lighting Designer
3 NOMINATED 2005 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Sound Design Scott Lehrer Sound Designer
4 NOMINATED 2005 AUDELCO Award, Costume Design Toni-Leslie James Costume Designer
5 WON 2005 Obie Award, Performance LaChanze Actor