Name: New York Theatre Workshop
Address: 79 East 4th Street, New York, NY 10003
Production Details
First performance date: November 18, 2015
Opening date: December 7, 2015
Closing date: January 20, 2016
Links: Official Website
View Larger Size
Production Description
Following his revelatory production of Ingmar Bergman's Scenes from a Marriage, the internationally acclaimed director Ivo van Hove returns to New York Theatre Workshop with a new production, Lazarus, by David Bowie and Enda Walsh. Mr. Walsh makes his return to NYTW after the successful run of Once. Lazarus features songs specially composed for this production by Mr. Bowie as well as new arrangements of previously recorded songs. Lazarus, inspired by the 1963 novel The Man Who Fell to Earth by Walter Tevis, centers on the character of Thomas Newton, famously portrayed by Mr. Bowie in the 1976 screen adaptation directed by Nicolas Roeg.

2016 Lucille Lortel Awards Nominations
1. Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical, Sophia Anne Caruso
2. Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical, Michael C. Hall

2016 Drama League Awards Nominations
1. Distinguished Performance, Michael C. Hall

2016 Drama Desk Awards Nominations
1. Outstanding Actor in a Musical, Michael C. Hall
2. Outstanding Projection Design, Tal Yarden
3. Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical, Brian Ronan

2016 Outer Critics Circle Nominations
1. Outstanding Book Of A Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
2. Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical, Sophia Anne Caruso
3. Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
4. Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical), Tal Yarden


Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
New York Theatre Workshop Producer
James C. Nicola Artistic Director
Jeremy Blocker Managing Director
Linda S. Chapman Associate Artistic Director
David Bowie Playwright
Enda Walsh Playwright
David Bowie Music
Walter Tevis Original Author
Ivan van Hove Director
Jeff James Assistant Director
Michael Rau Associate Director
Annie-B Parson Choreographer
Ani Taj Associate Choreographer
Jan Versweyveld Set Designer
An D'Huys Costume Designer
Jan Versweyveld Lighting Designer
Brian Ronan Sound Designer
Rachel Townsend Assistant Costume Designer
Dan Soule Associate Set Designer
Alex Fabozzi Associate Lighting Designer
Tal Yarden1 Projection Designer
Christopher Ash Associate Video Designer
Rodrik Biersteker Assistant Video Designer
Jon Knust Prop Design
Cody Spencer Associate Sound Designer
Matt Ross Public Relations Press Representative
James Latus Stage Manager
Samantha Watson Assistant Stage Manager
Larry K. Ash Production Manager
Paul Bradley Technical Director
Leo A. Martin IV Sound Supervisor
Joshua Yocum Prop Master
Andrea Dockhorn Wardrobe
Amanda Roberge Wardrobe
Henry Hey Arranger
Henry Hey Orchestrations
Henry Hey Music Direction
Fima Ephron Bass
Brian Delaney Drums
JJ Appleton Guitar
Chris McQueen Guitar
JJ Appleton Keyboards
Henry Hey Synthesizer
Lucas Dodd Tenor Saxophone
Karl Lyden Trombone
The Pekoe Group Advertising
Telsey + Company Casting
Jan Peter Gerrits Dramaturg
Liz Caplan2 Vocal Coach

1 Credited as Video Design.
2 Credited as Vocal Supervisor.

Actor Role
Krystina Alabado Teenage Girl 1
Sophia Anne Caruso Girl
Nicholas Christopher Ben
Lynn Craig Maemi
Michael Esper Valentine
Michael C. Hall Newton
Cristin Milioti Elly
Bobby Moreno Zach
Krista Pioppi Teenage Girl 2
Charlie Pollock Michael
Brynn Williams Teenage Girl 3
Marianne Rendon Elly UNDERSTUDY